The Techno-phile

I must say that ever since I bought my handphone (a Samsung Galaxy Mini 2), I have been quite interested in the technological products out there. My Samsung Galaxy was a relatively new phone, released only a few weeks prior to my purchase, and it was also offered as a promotion, though I’ve forgotten what promotion it was precisely. Either way, I really like new things, and I’m also really happy with my phone, even though it is an entry-level smartphone. Perhaps in the future I will evolve it into a more acceptable smartphone, though price is always a factor with me. And I’d rather get a new cheap phone than an older, more expensive phone.

But I only got my phone in May last year, so I probably won’t be changing it anytime soon. On the other hand, my laptop is beginning to look very old… I had it back in 2010, I believe, so it’s been nearly 3 years, and the keys on my keyboard are losing their lettering. When my parents use the laptop, they can’t see which letters are which, and typing becomes really hard for them.

Then again, I’ve been looking around the laptops in shops and it seems all of them are still working on Windows 7, which is my current operating system. I don’t want to get a new laptop that works on Windows 7, only to have everyone use Windows 8 shortly after. Plus, as I said, I like new stuff. I don’t want to use the same OS again.

I wonder what brands I shall try in the future. I’d prefer not to use the same brands I did before, which is easy for laptops since I’ve only used Gateway and Lenovo, I think. Whereas for the handphone, I’ve tried Motorola, Sony Ericsson, Nokia and Samsung. That pretty much sums up all the phone brands around.

When it comes to preferences, I like when the appearance is special — therefore no Apple products for me, or Samsung Galaxy [big phones] (S3 and Note, that is) for that matter. With the current trend towards these 2 brands, though, I wonder if there are still phones like my S6500 being produced in the future. After all, it seems as if any phone that’s not one of the trendy brands won’t sell much. It might be a losing business to make entry-level smartphones. At least with laptops, aside from the suddenly cool Macbooks, there is still some more variety to be had.

I really like my Lenovo laptop. It has a wide screen, a sleek black look and is simply great. It’s getting old now though, and riddled with errors. I hope I can get a laptop like this Lenovo, though maybe one that is lighter since I’m bringing my laptop to school more often. But no, not a Macbook. I can hear voices at my ears now muttering “Apple, Apple, Apple” over and over again.

But no kidding. What brands/kinds of handphones and laptops do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

