Self-Help And Other-Help

I think now is a good time to talk about self-help, because I do think I need it. I’m suffering a sudden, undeserved cold, my write-up’s taking longer than expected to finish, and I haven’t (and don’t want to) studied for my Sociology midterm tomorrow. I’ve read my notes well enough, but I haven’t re-looked at the readings, and a nagging feeling tells me that it’s going to be quite important, even critical, to revise my readings again. And when your gut feeling tells you you haven’t done enough for exam preparation, you’d do well to believe it.

And it seems a large number of people need self-help too. Self-help tends to be one of the bestseller genres in bookshops and libraries, but what happens when you’re like me and don’t want to be trawling through thick volumes of motivating words, only to find that once I’ve mustered enough inspiration to get started on revising, I’ve already wasted my revision time on reading self-help? Convoluted, but I assure you it happens more often than we want. But not to worry, because bite-sized encouragement can be found on the internet too, and not just from friends or websites of inspiring quotes. The internet may not be just a haven for flamers and trolls after all.

http://www.raptitude.com/

Raptitude is a website full of positivity. Some wise guy sits behind the computer screen every few days and churns out sagely advice like a machine. We all need a dose of wisdom to get us back on the right track every once in a while, and Raptitude provides such a service free of charge, in the privacy of your own home so that nobody knows you’re a weepy depressed sniveling piece of turd.

I realise that this is a good article to kick off the week moving towards Good Friday as well. This period is all about Easter and being good to each other, and what better way to help somebody than to help get their lives back on track? But if you help them get back on track, why is this known as self-help? I suppose you help that person help themselves, because as they say, the only person who can change one’s mindset is oneself.

But I really think the reason for “self-help” is to give dignity to the person needing help. That, and “other-help” sounds difficult to market. I mean, it doesn’t sound so bad if you’re finding a guidebook to help you find yourself again, rather than seeking help to do what you can’t do alone anymore.

So yeah, don’t be embarrassed to consult self-help. On the same note, don’t be afraid to consult astrology either. I like reading astrology when I’m alone, free and near a bookshop or library. Astrology tells you the type of person you have the “potential” to be, and even though you may not fit the description at all at first, research shows that we’ll subtly change ourselves to suit the description. And astrology will never paint you as a thoroughly bad person (for practical reasons surely) so you may change into a better person after consulting it, or at least feel better about yourself.

Leave a Reply

