Greenland and Eric the Red

I love travelling. Or rather, I love the notion of it. The idea of casting aside your daily life, casting aside the things you see day in and day out, and entering an entirely different world, with different people, exploring everything new. I love new stuff, so it makes sense that I would love a new environment too.

However, when people think of their ideal place for travel, they always imagine exotic places. Places with breath-taking scenery, the kind depicted on postcards. Somewhere with nature, and smiling people (for God knows city-dwellers don’t smile anymore). Travel photographs are some of the most enrapturing type, and I chanced on a series just now from Fotopedia.com that exemplified just the kind I was talking about.

This photo series was about Qassiarsuk, which is in the south of Greenland. Greenland’s probably one of those countries faraway from everywhere, and eternally cold. I don’t think I can stand such countries, but cold weather seems to bring with it its fair share of beautiful landscapes. They have solitary houses by the sea, for one, which is an uncommon sight in land-cramped Singapore. I don’t think I can even imagine staying in a small 3-storey house, and walking out to metres and metres of pasture, with a lake behind me and a snow-capped mountain in the distance. It’s like a scene from Heidi!

I would run amidst the bed of flowers, barefoot, and touch the statue of Leif Ericsson (not likely related to the company Ericsson). And then I would meet the Captain of Qassiarsuk, who’s a guy who smokes a pipe.

And there’ll be sheep! Apparently sheep abound in Greenland (though I wonder if Australia still has more of them). I believe I’ve touched sheep before, maybe in Japan or somewhere, but feeding them and waking up to them everyday makes a big difference. Oh, and I also see a rock of runes over there. Just some rock jutting out of the grass, with runes inscribed on it. It’s all so adventurous and fantastic!

There are so many other awesome places and people depicted in this excellent photo series. I notice the photographer likes close-up shots a lot, especially of people, which makes them look a little too close. I wonder if the people are really like that, overly warm and imposing on you. Well, I’m sure it won’t be long to get used to that!

I don’t usually consider a travel photographer a photojournalist. They strictly belong in the leisure bent. That said, there’s no better place than abroad to test out your new professional camera, or your latent talents.

Travelling all over the world has been my dream since I was little, ignoring the fact that I mayn’t enjoy the weather or the rural conditions. But travel always has a dream-like quality, as if you’re living out an entirely new life, trying out what would have happened to you had you been born in a different place. And after seeing this photo gallery, travelling to Qassiarsuk is definitely going on my bucket list!

And for all those curious to see it for yourself, here’s the link.

http://www.fotopedia.com/reporter/stories/LrtSzShqfWX/view

Leave a Reply

