Noitamina 10th Anniversary Fan Vote

Noitamina recently celebrated its tenth anniversary, and as such made a poll asking voters to choose the best show ever aired during its block, as well as their favourite Mr and Miss Noitamina anime leads.

First of all, I should backtrack a bit and clarify what Noitamina means. Noitamina is a TV block on Fuji TV channel that airs anime, which is Friday midnight from 12.45 am to 1.45 am. I don’t know who watches television at that time of night, but I can only assume youngsters (notably hikikomori otaku) would do so. In addition, a funfact that Noitamina is “animation” spelled backwards, which is why it is usually written as noitaminA.

This channel has aired plenty of shows, from Honey & Clover to more recently Gin no Saji 2 and Samurai Flamenco. And so, the results!

Miss Noitamina: Akane from Psycho-Pass

Mr Noitamina: Kogami from Psycho-Pass

I have no comments about either of them, except that I guess they’re compatible.

The Scene That Pulled Heartstrings: Episode 10 of AnoHana (“you love me as in you want to marry me, right?”)

Oh yes, I remember the scene now! That was indeed a pretty great scene.

Most Memorable Music: Sakamichi no Apollon opening and ending themes

Considering that this is an anime about music, where characters form a jazz band, I am highly anticipatory of the kind of music they produce. I shall remember to watch this.

Most Shocking Scene: AnoHana Episode 4 (Yukiatsu Menma)

For those not in the know, Yukiatsu Menma is basically the scene where it turns out Yukiatsu has a fetish for dressing up as Menma. I agree that it was very shocking but also very well done.

Most Memorable Line: “my power of the king!” from Guilty Crown

Doesn’t seem very memorable to me out of context.

Best Episode: Psycho-Pass Episode 11

I would argue that I like AnoHana better, since it has won so many “best scene” awards, but I guess the episode of Psycho-Pass beats all of that.

There was also a woobie category on the “Best Sakurai Takahiro Character”. The winner of that went to Makishima from Psycho-Pass. Just FYI, Sakurai Takahiro also did Yukiatsu in AnoHana. Aside from that, he was Meme Oshino in Bakemonogatari, Suzaku in Code Geass and Kanda in D.Gray-Man, so there was no lack of good material for voting. Having known a few Sakurai Takahiro characters in my anime life, it comes as no surprise that I am excited about this category.

So there you have it, you can see what the fans like. For those who love Psycho-Pass, Season 2 is coming out in October, but you probably know that already. One other upcoming anime that I’ve heard about is Ping Pong. The art is pretty strange, and it covers a sport as mundane as table-tennis. From what I see so far, I know none of the seiyuu. Just putting it out there because, well, you’ve really got to check out the art.

I wish I had a seiyuu poll, where I get to pick my favourite characters out of each of the seiyuu I like. Maybe I should do an entry like that someday.

Leave a Reply

